Castello di Duino
The New Castle of Duino, a manor of Rilke's memory, in which the German poet wrote his Duinese Elegies, has been documented since 1363, the year in which the two forts were first mentioned: the Old or Lower, and the New or Upper. A primitive and older fortress, the Castellum Pucinum must, however, have existed on the site already in Roman times if it was mentioned by Pliny the Elder. The lower castle, built as early as the 11th century, formerly a fief of the Patriarchate of Aquileia, of the Dukes of Austria from the 14th century, then passed to the Counts of Duino and sold by them to the Barons of Waldsee, after having been the object of many wars, was almost completely destroyed by the Turks in the 15th century. In 1483, when Rambert III of Waldsee died, the fief and the upper fortress returned to the House of Austria. Having fallen into Venetian hands, it was regained in 1508 by Emperor Maximilian, who gave it to John Hofer. Following the marriage of Lodovica Hofer to Raymond VI della Torre, the manor passed to the Princes della Torre and Tasso, whose heirs still live in the castle today. The private residence of the Princes of Thurn and Taxis (von Thun und Taxis), open for visits and an enchanting location for events and conferences, Duino Castle with its park and Second World War Bunker is a fascinating tourist destination on the outskirts of Trieste. The castle can be visited from April to September every day except Tuesdays from 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m., in March and October every day except Tuesdays from 9.30 a.m. to 4.30 p.m., in the winter months on weekends and holidays from 9.30 a.m. to 4 p.m.